Travel

Four Reasons Why I’d Go Back to Cornwall… In a Heartbeat!

falmouth-harbour

This summer, my family and I went on holiday to Falmouth in Cornwall. I’ve visited the county quite a few times before and so I knew before I even started packing that I was going to love this week away. And I wasn’t wrong; I visited some fascinating places and, although it was temperamental, we were generally quite lucky with the weather. So I thought I’d share the top four reasons why I’d visit Cornwall again!

corwall3

  1. The coastlines are beautiful

It’s true that whatever part of the coast you go to, you’re guaranteed beautiful views. Reading that out-loud, I picture my Mum saying the same words when I was younger, and how I used to complain at these ‘boring’ daytrips!

This year, we visited a place called Cape Cornwall, not far from Land’s End. It was blustery and cold but once we got to the top of the headland, I could see right along the coastline and all the way out to sea.cape-cornwall

edge

We also drove out to St Michael’s Mount, a tidal island home to a medieval castle and its beautiful gardens. When we first arrived the tide was in and so we had to climb into a small boat which took us to the Mount. Throughout the time we spent there I could almost watch the tide go out, exposing a walkway which linked the island back to the headland of Cornwall.

st-michaels

st-mikes-mt

st-mikes

st-michaels-mount-2

  1. Quaint towns

Cornwall is sprinkled with charming and idyllic villages and towns. Some are so small I can’t help but wonder whether people live there at all. During our week away, my family and I visited a few harbour towns, one of which was called Mousehole. (Now if that’s not cute, I don’t know what is.)

mousehole-boat

cat

mousehole

On one of the evenings we travelled to Mevagissey, a small harbour town with lovely restaurants and epic views of the sea! Whilst we were there, there happened to be a performance by the men’s choir who sang on the sea front as the sun set.

harbour

ellie-and-me

  1. The pasties, need I say more?

If you’ve ever been to Cornwall, you must have had the famous Cornish Pasties. I couldn’t write this post without mentioning them! In a place called St Ives, we dodged the seagulls (my sister wasn’t so lucky) and ate them on the beach. It was a hot day and so, with sand in our toes and – in my sister’s case – seagulls in our hair, we walked along the sea front, listening to the sea-side sounds.

st-ives

st-ivess

  1. There’s lots to explore

The Lost Gardens of Heligan were far less un-exciting than it sounds, trust. With a simple map and an information leaflet (which only my Mum read), we set off on our walk around the grounds. It was wonderful. There were sculptures and a rope bridge – to which there was a considerably long queue. There were stories to follow, enchanting tales for the kids to be entertained with (yes, and me) and pretty Italian-inspired gardens. The weather helped; again, it was warm but we were shaded by the tall trees and plants. We pretty much spent all day here.

garden-mud-maid

rope-bridge-sign

rope-bridge

These are my favourite things about this part of our Country. What is your favourite place to visit?

cornwall-2

Amy Louise

x

Leave a Reply

